Chief Nutrition
    Visit Chief Store

    Chief vs True Protein Collagen: An Honest Comparison

    Both are grass-fed bovine collagen type I and III, so the collagen is comparable. Chief keeps its tub pure and tested for heavy metals, pesticides and glyphosate, and works out cheaper per gram, about $11.80 a 100 grams against $16. True Protein adds Vitamin C, has more flavours, offers a HASTA-certified collagen for drug-tested athletes and a smaller 10g serve that is cheaper per serve. Pick a pure tested collagen against added Vitamin C and more options.

    At a glance

    Start with what is in the tub, because that is where these two differ. Both are hydrolysed grass-fed bovine collagen, type I and III, from an Australian brand, so the collagen itself is comparable. Chief keeps its tub to 100% collagen, third-party tested for heavy metals, pesticides and glyphosate, with the results on the page. True Protein fortifies its collagen with Vitamin C to help collagen synthesis, has more flavours and offers a separate HASTA-certified collagen for athletes who are drug tested. On price it depends how you weigh it: Chief is cheaper per gram, about $11.80 a 100 grams against True Protein's $16, while True Protein's smaller 10g serve is cheaper per serve. Choose Chief for pure, tested collagen that is cheaper per gram; choose True Protein for Vitamin C built in, more flavours, a HASTA option or a cheaper per-serve dose.

    Chief

    • a pure 100% collagen with published heavy-metal, pesticide and glyphosate testing
    • Australian grass-fed sourcing and a larger 15g serve
    • the lower price per gram of collagen, about $11.80 a 100g against $16
    Per 45 g bar Chief True Protein
    Type Hydrolysed grass-fed bovine collagen, type I and III Hydrolysed grass-fed bovine collagen, type I and III
    Serve size 15g 10g
    What is in the tub 100% collagen, nothing else Collagen plus Vitamin C
    Sourcing Australian grass-fed bovine Grass-fed bovine, made in Australia; bovine origin not stated
    Sweeteners None unflavoured; flavoured tubs use monk fruit Natural is unsweetened; flavoured use natural sweeteners, no artificial additives
    Contaminant and banned-substance testing Third-party tested for heavy metals, pesticides and glyphosate, stated on the page A separate HASTA-certified collagen is sold; the standard collagen page does not show heavy-metal testing
    Flavour range 3 (unflavoured, dark chocolate, creamy vanilla) Natural plus five flavours
    Pack and serves 450g, 30 serves at 15g 300g, 30 serves at 10g
    Price $52.95 AUD (450g) $48.00 AUD (300g)
    Price per serve about $1.77 (15g) about $1.60 (10g)
    Price per 100g about $11.80 about $16.00
    Suitable for vegans No, collagen is animal-sourced No, collagen is animal-sourced

    The cost, in full

    All prices are AUD, read from each brand's own site on 6 July 2026. The serve sizes differ, Chief at 15g and True Protein at 10g, so the fair comparison is per 100 grams of collagen. Chief's 450g tub is $52.95, about $11.80 a 100 grams. True Protein's 300g is $48.00, about $16.00 a 100 grams. Chief is cheaper per gram of collagen.

    Per serve it looks closer, because True Protein's serve is smaller. Its 10g serve is about $1.60, a little under Chief's $1.77 for 15g, but you are getting a third less collagen in that serve. Some of True Protein's price also covers the added Vitamin C. Weigh it on the collagen you actually get, and Chief is the better value per gram.

    Where Chief is the better choice

    You want pure collagen and published testing

    Chief's collagen is 100% collagen, nothing added, and third-party tested for heavy metals, pesticides and glyphosate, stated on the page. True Protein's collagen is fortified with Vitamin C, so it is a formula rather than pure collagen, and its standard collagen page does not show heavy-metal, pesticide or glyphosate testing. For anyone who wants just the collagen and wants to see the contaminant testing, Chief is the plainer, more open choice.

    You want Australian grass-fed sourcing and a bigger serve

    Chief's collagen is Australian grass-fed bovine, and its serve is 15g against True Protein's 10g, so you get more collagen a scoop. True Protein is made in Australia and uses grass-fed bovine, but it does not state the country the bovine is from. Chief states both the sourcing and the larger dose.

    You want the lower price per gram

    Chief is cheaper for the collagen you actually get: about $11.80 a 100 grams against True Protein's $16. True Protein's serve is a smaller 10g, so it looks a little cheaper per serve, about $1.60 against Chief's $1.77. Weigh it by the gram rather than the scoop, though, and Chief is the cheaper of the two.

    Where True Protein is the better choice

    You want Vitamin C built in

    True Protein adds Vitamin C to its collagen, and your body uses Vitamin C in collagen formation, so having it in the same scoop is a genuine convenience. Chief keeps its collagen pure, which means you would take your Vitamin C separately, from food or another supplement. For the two together in one scoop, True Protein does that and Chief does not.

    You want more flavours or a smaller serve

    True Protein offers a Natural plus five flavours, including chocolate, fruit punch and vanilla, more than Chief's three. Its serve is also a smaller 10g, so if you prefer a lower daily dose or you like to rotate flavours, it fits that. Chief keeps a tighter, simpler range with a larger serve.

    You want a HASTA-certified collagen

    True Protein sells a separate HASTA-certified collagen, tested against banned substances, built for athletes who are drug tested. Chief does not hold HASTA on any product. For anyone competing under testing who wants a certified collagen, True Protein has that option in its range and Chief does not.

    Which one is right for you

    You want the lowest price per gram of collagenChief, about $11.80 a 100g against $16
    You want pure collagen with published heavy-metal testingChief
    You want Australian grass-fed sourcing and a 15g serveChief
    You want Vitamin C built into the collagenTrue Protein
    You want more flavours or a smaller 10g serveTrue Protein
    You compete under drug testing and want a HASTA-certified collagenTrue Protein, its HASTA collagen

    Pure collagen or a collagen and Vitamin C formula

    This is the real choice. Chief keeps its collagen pure, 100% collagen with nothing added, and publishes its testing for heavy metals, pesticides and glyphosate. True Protein builds Vitamin C into the collagen, has more flavours and offers a HASTA-certified collagen for drug-tested athletes. Neither is wrong. Chief is the cleaner, cheaper-per-gram, tested single ingredient; True Protein is a fortified formula with more options. Match the one that fits how you want to take collagen.

    Before you buy

    Collagen does not suit everyone. It is not a complete protein, so it should not be your only protein source if you train and need muscle repair. It is bovine, so neither product suits vegans or vegetarians. If you are pregnant, breastfeeding or managing a health condition, check with your healthcare provider before adding a new supplement. And if you compete under drug testing, look for a certified product, such as True Protein's HASTA collagen.

    Common questions

    A note on why we wrote this

    Chief makes one of these products, so read this with that in mind. Chief's figures come from Chief's own product data. True Protein's come from trueprotein.com.au, read on 6 July 2026. The serve sizes differ, so the page compares per 100g. Prices change, so check both sites before you buy.